en-USes-MX
Titles

Lost Titles

If the title is in your name, or you are the recorded lien holder for the vehicle, you can apply for a certified copy through the TxDMV.

Texas Dealer Purchase

If you purchase a vehicle from a Texas dealer, the dealer is required to process the title transaction. Contact your dealer if you have questions about your purchase.

Individual Purchase

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles now offers a Title Check service. Title Check will search to see if the title of the vehicle you're considering has any issues impacting its value. For more information visit the TxDMV website.

If you do not have acceptable evidence of ownership for a vehicle you own or recently purchased, you may have the option of applying for a bonded title.

Seller:

  • Complete and sign the back of the Texas title, Assignment of Title section
  • Insert the date of sale on the back of the title
  • Seller must sign the sales tax affidavit form Application for Texas Title (VTR-130 U)
  • Complete form Motor Vehicle Transfer Notification (VTR-346). When you submit the form a remark will be added to the vehicle record which shows the date you sold the vehicle. This can protect you if the buyer fails to promptly transfer the title.

Buyer: legal name on photo ID must match the name on all paper work

  • Sign the back of the title, Assignment of Title section
  • From the date of the seller's signature, the buyer has 30 calendar days to complete the title transfer before late fees are assessed
  • Buyer must sign the sales tax affidavit form Application for Texas Title (VTR-130 U)
  • Valid government issued ID
  • Valid proof of Insurance
    • Must be in the name of all buyers.
    • Insurance on another vehicle owned by the buyers can be used for the first 30 calendar days from the date of sale
  • Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) – Inspection Report showing emissions test overall passed and issued within last 90 days. Required only if the vehicle is from out of state or was last registered or titled in a TX county without an emissions inspection program.
    • Exemptions include
    • Title only transfers
    • Vehicles less than 2 years old or vehicles older than 24 years
    • Diesel powered vehicles, vehicles registered as antique, motorcycle, and title only vehicles.
  • If the vehicle was purchased out of state ask the station for the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). Verify that the vehicle identification number on the form matches your vehicle information and bring the form to the tax office.  No alterations or errors will be accepted. Inspection station locator and information.
  • Any supporting documents such as Release of Lien, Power of Attorney (VTR-271) , etc.
  • If you are a Texas resident who purchased a vehicle from overseas, please click here for additional requirements.
  • Title Transfer Fees

    • Title Application fee $33
    • Applicable registration fee
    • Sales tax calculated at 6.25% on the purchase price or the standard presumptive value whichever is greater.
    • If over 30 calendar days from date sale additional penalties may apply.

    Click here for accepted payment methods

    Gift Transfer

    House Bill 2654 established new criteria for determining when a transaction qualifies as a gift for motor vehicle tax purposes. Effective Sept. 1, 2009, the only transactions that qualify to be taxed as gifts ($10) are those wherein the vehicles are received from a: spouse, parent or stepparent, in laws, grandparent or grandchild, child or stepchild, sibling, guardian, decedent's estate or if it is donated to, or given by, a nonprofit service organization qualifying under the Internal Revenue Code, Sec. 501(c)(3).

    All other motor vehicle transfers made without payment of consideration are now defined as sales and will be subject to tax calculated on the normal standard presumptive value (SPV) of the vehicle as determined through the Registration and Title System (RTS).

    The donor or recipient are the only ones that may bring in the paperwork into the Tax Office in order to process.

    Donor:

    Recipient: legal name on photo ID must match the name on all paper work

    • Complete the Assignment of Title section
    • From the date of sale, the buyer has 30 calendar days to complete the title transfer before late fees are assessed.
    • Original signature on the sales tax affidavit form Application for Texas Title (VTR-130 U)
    • Original signature and notarize the Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer (14-317)
    • Valid government issued ID
    • Valid proof of Insurance
      • Must be in the name of all buyers.
      • Insurance on another vehicle owned by the buyers can be used for the first 30 calendar days from the date of sale
    • Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) – Inspection Report showing emissions test overall passed and issued within last 90 days. Required only if the vehicle is from out of state or was last registered or titled in a TX county without an emissions inspection program.
      • Exemptions include
        • Title only transfers
        • Vehicles less than 2 years old or vehicles older than 24 years
        • Diesel powered vehicles, vehicles registered as antique, motorcycle, and title only vehicles.
      • If the vehicle was purchased out of state ask the station for the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). Verify that the vehicle identification number on the form matches your vehicle information and bring the form to the tax office.  No alterations or errors will be accepted.
    • Any supporting documents such as Release of Lien, Power of Attorney (VTR-271) , etc.

    Gift Transfer Fees

    • Title Application fee $33
    • Gift Tax $10
    • Applicable registration fee
    • If over 30 calendar days from sale date additional tite and sales tax penalties may apply.

    Click here for accepted payment methods

    New Texas Resident

    New residents are required to do the following within 30-90 days of moving to Texas (if more than 90 days please contact your local tax office):

    Bring the following item to one of our locations:

    • Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) – ask the station for the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). Verify that the vehicle identification number on the form matches your vehicle information. No alterations or errors will be accepted. Inspection station locater and information.
    • Original out of state title or last registration receipt.
    • Completed Application for Texas Title (VTR-130 U)
    • Valid government issued ID
    • Proof of current Texas liability insurance or out of state insurance that meets or exceeds the Texas Requirements (may be listed on your insurance declaration page). The minimum amount of coverage required by the State of Texas: 
      • $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident
      • $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident
      • $25,000 for property destruction or damage to others in one accident
    • Any supporting documents such as Release of Lien, Power of Attorney (VTR-271) , etc.

    Fees:

    • Title Application fee $33
    • Applicable registration fee
    • $90 New resident Fee OR 6.25 % sales tax calculated on the purchase price or the standard presumptive value whichever is greater.
      • You may also need to provide paid sales tax verification if a vehicle has been previously registered and titled by you in another state. If you are transferring title into your name from a recent purchase you will pay Texas sales tax (6.25%) which replaces the new resident fee. Texas law changed on October 1, 2006 for the base amount used to calculate sales tax. See Standard Presumptive Value.
    • If over 30 calendar days additional penalties may apply.

    Click here for accepted payment methods.

    Bonded

    If you do not have acceptable evidence of ownership for a vehicle you own or recently purchased, you may have the option of applying for a bonded title. For additional information please see TXDMV Bonded Title Information.

    Click here for a list of bonded title agents provided by Texas Department of Insurance. The companies listed are not affiliated with nor promoted by Williamson County Tax Office.

    Mechanics Lien

    Senate Bill 543 effective September 1, 2009, requires the mechanic filing the lien to submit the following to the county tax assessor collector's office in the county in which repairs were made:

    • $25 administrative fee
    • copy of the notification to owner/lienholder
    • signed copy of the work order

    The Mechanic's Lien Foreclosure form (VTR-265-M) can be found on Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Forms page.

    Title Transfer Penalties

    Sales Tax Penalty

    • From the date of sale you will count 30 days (day 1 is the day after the sale date)
    • 5% penalty on the sales tax amount between the 31st & 60th day late
    • 10% penalty on the sales tax amount any day after the 61st date late

    Delinquent Transfer Penalty

  • From the date of sale you will count 30 days (day 1 is the day after the sale date)
  • The $25 penalty applies every 30 days or any part of a 30 day period up to a maximum if $250.
  •