en-USes-MX
Registration

On March 1, 2015, a new state law requires you to Inspect to Register. Your vehicle must pass an inspection and emissions test 90 days before renewing your vehicle registration. The state portion of the vehicle inspection fee will be due when you renew your vehicle registration.

Calculate the date at here

The “Two Steps, One Sticker” program results in one sticker with one expiration date for your windshield, safer streets and cleaner air, and less risk of inspection sticker fraud and theft.

For more information visit Two step one sticker website.

How to Renew:

Step 1: Inspect

  • Find an inspection station - Use the Texas Department of Public Safety Inspection Station Locator to find a station in your area.
  • Pay the inspection station service fee - You will pay for the inspection service but NOT your state inspection and emission fees.
  • Obtain a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) - Don't lose this report. It proves you passed inspection and emissions testing so you may need to provide it at the time of registration! Need a replacement copy of the VIR for registration renewal purposes? Find it online or visit any Texas Inspection Station.

Step 2: Register

  • Select a renewal method - Renew online, by mail, in person at one of our four offices or through one of our partners. The inspection and emissions status are checked electronically. If there is an issue verifying the status, you will be asked to provide the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) in person, by e-mail or by fax.
  • Pay the state registration, inspection and emissions fees – Williamson County is now required by law to collect all state fees.
  • Place the sticker on your windshield - Place your registration sticker on your car - it's the only sticker you need. It serves as proof of current registration AND inspection.

 

 

Online

Your vehicle registration may be renewed 90 days before the expiration date, or up to six months after the expiration date, as long as you have not received a citation for expired registration.

When renewing online, you will receive your registration sticker by mail approximately 10 days afterwards.

Visit www.texas.gov with the following:

  • License plate number
  • Last 4 digits of the Vehicle identification Number (VIN)
  • Credit/Debit card information

Online renewals are issued for a full 12 months (including any portion of the month you’ve already used if renewing late.)

Mail

To ensure your registration does not get delayed or returned*, the following items must be included:
  • Renewal notice or the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • Copy of current proof of insurance. Do not mail original documents.
  • Check or money order made payable to Larry Gaddes, CTA
    • Payments made by check may be converted to an electronic funds transfer.
  • Mail payments to:
    Williamson County Tax Office
    904 S Main Street
    Georgetown, TX 78626

    *Registration can be denied in instances such as missing insurance, issues verifying current safety and emission inspection, titled owner resides out of county, or other required documentation is missing.

    In Person

    Bring:

    • Renewal notice, Vehicle identification Number, or license plate number
    • Current proof of insurance. Electronic versions accepted.
    • Valid photo ID
    • Payment for registration fees

    Sending someone to renew for you? Bring:

    • Renewal notice or a completed Limited Power of Attorney to Register.
    • Current proof of insurance. Electronic versions accepted.
    • Authorized agent's valid photo I D .
    • For business vehicles only: employee ID, business card or authorized letter on letterhead that matches the business name on the motor vehicle record.
    • P a y m e n t for registration fees.

    Grocery Stores and Subcontractors

    Current registration, this month or next month, can be renewed in:

    • All Williamson County HEB Business Center
    • AAA
      • 201 University Blvd. #750, Round Rock, TX 78665
      • 13376 N Hwy 183 #108, Austin, TX 78750

    Bring:

    • Entire three-part renewal notice
    • Current Proof of insurance
    • Valid photo ID
    • Consult the location directly for acceptable forms of payment.
    • $1.00 processing fee may be charged at participating businesses in addition to the registration fees.

    Moving to Williamson County

    If you recently moved to Williamson County from another county within the state and it is time to renew your vehicle registration, click here for your options to renew.


    Out of State 

    If your vehicle is currently out of state and you are unable to complete a Texas vehicle inspection in order to renew your registration, you will be able to self-certify that the vehicle is out of state and will be permitted to register online, by mail or in-person.

    • When renewing online, you will be prompted to self-certify.
    • When renewing by mail, please include the self-certifying form VTR-270.
    • When renewing in person, please inform our office that you are self-certifying.

    Please Note: If you renew your vehicle registration using the out-of-state self-certification option, a remark will be placed on your vehicle record indicating that an inspection is still due.

    Once you return to the state, you must complete a Texas vehicle inspection within three days of arrival at your home, duty station, or destination.

    It is very important that you keep the VIR issued after completing your inspection in case you are stopped by law enforcement before the remark is removed from your vehicle record, which takes about 48 hours. The remark will only be removed upon payment of the state’s portion of the inspection fee and verification of a current, passing inspection.

    Estimated Cost to Renew Commonly Registered Vehicles (effective Jan 2017)
    $78.25 - Passenger Vehicles and Light Trucks weighing up to 6,000 pounds
    $69.75 - Trailers up to 6,000 pounds
    $81.50 - Trucks 6,001 - 10,000 pounds
    $54.75 - Motorcycles
    Click herefor more on fees.

    Estimated cost of registration contains the following fees:
    Base Registration Fee - varies by weight and class
    DPS Fee - $1
    State Inspection Fee - varies by vehicle class
    Local Fees (County Road and Bridge Fee and Child Safety Fund) - $11.50
    Processing and Handling Fee - $4.75

    Late Registration Fees
    After your vehicle registration has expired, you havefive business days to renew your registration without penalty.

    If you renew your vehicle's registration after it is due, you will have to disclose if anyone received a citation for driving that vehicle with an expired registration and whether or not the vehicle has been driven.

    Depending on the facts, registration may be issued for a 12 month period or a penalty of 20% in addition to the 12 month registration period will be charged.

    Replacements can be obtained by the titled owner for a $6.50 fee.

    In Person

    • Completed form Vtr-60
    • Valid photo ID
    • For replacement plates only: Must surrender registration sticker and available license plates (unless they are specialty plates).

    Mail

    • Completed form Vtr-60
    • Check or money order made payable to Larry Gaddes, CTA
      • Payments made by check may be converted to an electronic funds transfer.

    Mail payments to:
    Williamson County Tax Office
    904 S Main Street
    Georgetown, TX 78626